Forest of Despair

Posted: August 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

There was a time where you were only in my dreams.

And your quiet steps rippled across the the misty lake

I was nothing but a shadow hidden by the moon it seemed

Until the morning’s rays showed that I wasn’t opaque

Upon the dewy grass I have always waited

For that one chance to open my heart

After years of patience it was finally fated

And when we finally touched out jumped a spark

Like the moonchild you came down before me

With eyes more natural than the ageless trees

A voice more beautiful than those of the muses

It was you who had set me free

I see now that I wander the Forest of Despair

Where it is always cold, dark, and full of confusion

The wind whispers it’s thoughts to all who are lost

Until through the thorns you find the overgrown path

Following the edge of gold

I see that those who wander are not always lost

The flame within has yet been told

Holding onto you is how I have fought

Before me is the opening

Flickers of light pierce through the veil

Away from the outside world I was coping

Afraid that this would be the end of our tale

I see now that I wander the Forest of Despair

Where it is always cold, dark, and full of confusion

The wind whispers it’s thoughts to all who are lost

Until through the thorns you find the overgrown path

Like Orpheus my eye almost strayed

But looking back would only open old wounds and bring more pain

The forest does have a certain story of how it was made

But the past can not be changed and it already has it’s name

I grip your warm hands behind me

and together we walk into the light

Once into the new world I toss the forest’s key

and into the mysterious ocean it is gone from sight

The Forest of Despair is no more

Leave a Reply

